05
Apr
24

Life With Charlie • Episode 1

In the immortal words of Yogi Berra: It ain’t over til it’s over!  He was talking about the 1973 National League pennant race. I am talking about old age…not older age…old age…upwards of 80. Old is a fact of life. One minute you’re a kid thinking about what you want to be when you grow up and the next minute, there you are with a whole lot of space in between that you have to process.  It’s hard work even in the best of times. 

The past half dozen years have been painfully challenging throughout the world, and the meter is rising as we move into this election year. What we held as reliable social structure is now swaying in the breeze of hot air malevolence. Those of us on the upper end of aging have a particularly difficult time of it.  2023 was a really hard year for us—in and out of hospice for our aging cats, Ben and Bella. 2024 began with Covid and the finality of losing these two creatures who had been such good companions.

We’d lived with cats for 40 years. Suddenly it was just us two-leggeds, and a world of grief. Didn’t take us long to find Charlie. Within the first few days, we knew he was not the laid-back Morris-type we thought we’d adopted. But he was nearly 2 years old, not really a kitten. I thought I knew a lot about cats. What I didn’t know is that male, orange tabbies are a thing, a phenomenon, a natural classic: super smart, fearlessly athletic, and, on their own terms, relational and loving.

All this to say that life with Charlie does not allow feeble-mindedness. No, got to be on your toes. This morning, with Charlie looking on I decided to clean the coffee maker. Here he is observing and mentally cataloguing the process. He doesn’t miss a beat. I try to do the same.

What the heck is that? I’m cleaning the coffee pot.

Can I help? It’s hot, Charlie, you’ll get hurt. Go sit on your ledge.

How about here? I’ll just watch, you might need me.

Don’t need you on this, Buddy. Okay, I’ll just stand by.

Okay, I’ll just watch. Maybe I’ll learn something for later 🙂


4 Responses to “Life With Charlie • Episode 1”


  1. 1 moontrees9
    April 5, 2024 at 12:26 pm

    After reading your photo story re. Beau, et al, I commented “More please!” Well, you certainly delivered on this one and I thank you.

  2. 3 Korin Heinz
    April 5, 2024 at 5:59 pm

    He is so engaged. Great stories!

  3. 4 Korin Heinz
    April 5, 2024 at 6:00 pm

    Sunny, my yellow tabby is the same as Charlie. Super smart, keeps you on your toes


Leave a comment


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 205 other subscribers

Categories

Archives