01
Feb
13

hornet’s nest of good intentions

Imagine a situation that is simple enough if kept to the surface and dealt with as is, but it has legs, roots that go deep into the ground of your being. It could be work oriented, family oriented, school or church oriented…something that is private. You’ve inadvertently lost control of that privacy and now there are people trying to help who don’t know the whole story. You don’t want those roots made public, but with each attempt from loved ones to help, comfort, aid…the roots become more and more exposed, igniting fire-stories in your memory bank that cause more distress, not less. You try to keep it simple…to say more will be overwhelming for everyone…you try to graciously say just enough, but not so much that the exposed roots cause you, or anyone else pain. Finally the effort becomes muddled and confusing between yourself and those with loving intentions. You begin to think that maybe you are speaking a foreign language, but you know you aren’t, so what is the problem? Why are you causing pain in others? That is not your intent. You go over your letters and your conversations. They seem clear to you. What is going on?

Type Embellishments_H 36pt_white.

Maybe you identify with this scenario and have your own hornet’s nest of good intentions, maybe not. This is my story today. This is what is happening. My effort to draw personal boundaries has alienated some loving friends. I feel quite sad about this. I’ve done all I know to fix it and don’t blame anyone but myself. Time will lay it’s mossy blanket in a while.

The sun is shining cold on white today. It is a bright, crisp day that hurts my tired eyes. The gray of yesterday was a better fit. “Too bad, take what you get,” the Oracle of Life says to me. I don’t answer back. I just keep breathing.

I’m thinking about an island somewhere in the south pacific where this drama is not happening and my eyes are not burning from lack of sleep. “It will all work out,’ says the Oracle, ‘this is only one page in the Book of Life and it happens to lots of people. You are not unique.

“Good,’ I say, ‘that’s good to remember.”

3 Responses to “hornet’s nest of good intentions”


  1. 1 jstudenski@comcast.net
    February 1, 2013 at 3:31 pm

    beautifully done

  2. February 2, 2013 at 5:59 pm

    You have a gift, ever rare, of parsing a moment of intense experience and then finding words to convey what you have discovered in the parsing. Of course we have flown into the nest of good intentions but often we can’t extricate ourselves from the nest onto a vantage from which we can do the parsing. Another way of saying this, you have the gift of articulating what we ourselves go through. My gratitude.

    • 3 Naomi
      February 2, 2013 at 6:29 pm

      Oh, my goodness! Your response comes to me as a spark of God-love at the end of a very difficult week. Because you are a writer, teacher, poet, I take your words and pin them up in front of my self-doubting eyes. Thank you from the bottom of my heart. I am blessed.


Leave a Reply

Blog posts

February 2013
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
2425262728  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 204 other followers

Categories

Archives


