14
Feb
11

st. valentine day

Some of my friends express disappointment along with disbelief when I tell them that I am not a romantic. I don’t exactly know what I am, i.e., what popular category I fit it into, but romantic is not one of them. Maybe it happened in high school, that most horrible of horrible times. Or maybe it happened later on in my twenties when the road under my feet started swaying…or perhaps it was a gradual shift away from what I came to feel was a box of chocolates. In any case, the world needs its romantics, so I tip my imaginary hat to all who are, and send this quirky little valentine today, with lots of gratitude for your faithfulness in repeatedly clicking back to Called by Name even when the named one has not been answering the phone! (Ah, that’s a bit of my weird humor…you gotta be here…body language and facial expressions go with it.)

Happy St. Valentine’s Day to one and all. This valentine came to me from one of my dear romantic friends. Where she got it, I don’t know, but suspect it has traveled some from screen to screen, so this funny valentine has miles on her. Of course I had to take it into Photoshop, change it and make it my own. How else would it be from me to you?

Thank you so much for visiting my blog. Your replys are always welcome.

7 Responses to “st. valentine day”


  1. 1 Marcia
    February 14, 2011 at 10:07 am

    I LOVE your valentine!
    I see you as Real, not romantic!
    Neither is right or wrong, good or bad…
    it just Is.
    Love to you, Naomi

  2. 2 Anne
    February 14, 2011 at 11:29 am

    And, a Happy St. Valentine’s Day to you also my dear unromantic friend.

  3. 3 Naomi
    February 14, 2011 at 11:49 am

    Unromantic, but passionate nonetheless.

    • 4 Maxim K. Rice
      February 14, 2011 at 12:38 pm

      Naomi, good to hear from you and a good reminder to go back to your web site and see what’s up.
      I probably am a romantic with my lover/husband and with the world. It was so exciting watching the non-violent revolution in Egypt! Gives me hope for all of us to find our own voices.
      Happy Valentines Day to you Naomi. Nancy
      PS – not sure why the name and email comes up as Max? But, it doesn’t seem to want to change. What can I say???

  4. 5 Janie
    February 14, 2011 at 2:01 pm

    Love that green and purple valentine! Thanks for posting…

  5. February 14, 2011 at 8:59 pm

    Like it Naomi….no need to explain why you are not a romatic..We are all just who we are. I am a bit surprised by how many people are into Valentine’s Day this year. Or am I just aware more than usual.
    I like your transformation of the Valentine.
    Thanks for your writings. JK

  6. February 18, 2011 at 1:17 am

    Love the colors. I get so tired of the red and white and silver business. Way too Hallmark. Anyway, I hope you had a good February 14–not because it was Valentine’s Day but because it was just an ordinary good day.


Leave a Reply

Blog posts

February 2011
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 204 other followers

Categories

Archives


