27
Apr
10

graciousness in the subdivision

This afternoon I received a very gracious apology letter from my neighbors, so I went over to meet them. They explained that they did not know the sound penetrated beyond their home, apologized profusely and invited us to let them know whenever we find the music or merry-making too loud. I, in turn explained how the deep base without any lyrics or melody devastates one’s nervous system, creating huge amounts of adrenalin. The pretty young woman understood and offered additional apologies, while her cats peered curiously at me from behind the stair railing.

Referring to a sentence in last night’s blog, which she found offensive, she asked  that I not make assumptions about their values and character without knowing them. This is a perfectly reasonable request, one that resonated immediately in my peace and justice brain. I am in the wrong and apologize publicly. My reference to their drug of choice and case of beer was inappropriate and unkind. As it turns out they are lovely young kids trying to start a life together. We are just a thousand generations apart. We agreed we would work together and parted in grace. One truly cannot judge a book by its cover, or even by its title sometimes.

So, to you my good neighbors, I apologize and welcome you to the neighborhood.

They have cats. We have cats. Already we have something in common.

5 Responses to “graciousness in the subdivision”


  1. 1 Meg
    April 27, 2010 at 10:08 pm

    I am smiling. 🙂 I am delighted by the resolution. What a perfect ending to the tale of the rude awakening. Patience and calm in the face of potential hostility and an olive branch of peace and love…wish it could be bottled. Love you, Naomi

  2. 3 Anne
    April 28, 2010 at 10:03 am

    I love stories of redemption. This is great!

  3. 4 ordinary (mostly)
    April 28, 2010 at 11:43 am

    I bet I’d like their music.


Leave a Reply

Blog posts

April 2010
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 204 other followers

Categories

Archives


