13
Mar
10

one week later

Saturday, March 13, 2010  —  I wake up to a dream I don’t remember, but feel sad and helpless.

One week ago adopted daughter, Bettina Ortiz, died at 2:15 p.m. with her nurse and adopted family around her (see Holiness, March 9). She had slipped into a coma during the night. I had been in a psycho/emotional coma equally as long and longer. We did this together. It was a natural ending to the team work of Tina and Mamacita. Yesterday her ashes arrived in the bronze container I chose, and she approved, on the preceding Wednesday. This engraved, bronze box is now sitting on the floor where her bed used to be…next to my sculpture called Innocents, for the victims of 9/11. The box will stay right where it is until I can think about what to do next. She said I could do anything I wanted with the ashes, but that she wanted Frankie’s ashes added to hers. (Frank was our nearly 20 year old cat who slept with her toward the end, but died two weeks before she did.) We will do that…later. Today we tend to unraveling and settling the affairs of her estate.

My unremembered dream stays with me as sadness. A recording of Jacqueline Du Pre  playing Haydn and Boccherini pours out from the living room. This is music I listened to and lived with while I was sick with cancer in 2006, just across the street from adopted daughter…also sick with cancer.

All this week Richard Rohr’s email meditations dealt with Suffering. Today the meditation is adapted from Things Hidden: Scripture as Spirituality, p. 25:

Pain teaches a most counterintuitive thing—that we must go down before we even know what up is. In terms of the ego, most religions teach in some way that all must “die before they die.” Suffering of some sort seems to be the only thing strong enough to destabilize our arrogance and our ignorance. I would define suffering very simply as “whenever you are not in control.”

If religion cannot find a meaning for human suffering, humanity is in major trouble. All healthy religion shows you what to do with your pain. Great religion shows you what to do with the absurd, the tragic, the nonsensical, the unjust.

If we do not transform our pain, we will most assuredly transmit it.

If there isn’t some way to find some deeper meaning to our suffering, to find that God is somewhere in it, and can even use it for good, we will normally close up and close down. The natural movement of the ego is to protect itself so as not to be hurt again.  The soul just wants meaning, and then it can live.

And he leaves us with this Mantra: “God, help me find you, even in suffering.”

2 Responses to “one week later”


  1. 1 Anne
    March 13, 2010 at 11:02 am

    If I recall correctly, it was in your suffering in 2006 that you found God once again. And I have witnessed an ever deepening of your faith through these past years. I know AD’s death challenges it (for many of us since it seems so meaningless) – but I also know you…both fragile and made of incredibly sturdy stuff. These words are inadequate as always. I look forward to seeing you soon. Hugs.

  2. 2 Naomi
    March 13, 2010 at 11:18 am

    Hmmm, dear one. I am eager to see you soon. And as always, wish there was not so many miles between us. Tomorrow we will work on the memorial. I’m dreaming of a special place in the service to see you dance once again. Much love.


Leave a Reply

Blog posts

March 2010
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 204 other followers

Categories

Archives


