17
Feb
10

through glass bottom boats

Long before I had intimate knowledge of death and dying, I came across this poem by Billy Collins, the Poet Laureate of the United States from 2001 to 2003. I was struck then, and remain impressed by its impactful imagery. I find it curiously comforting, with it’s twist of humor, the way I see God smiling lovingly on our small selves sometimes. God is always looking at us…at me, but I am not always looking back. I am not always willing to go where I would not choose to go. But always, and faithfully, God finds ways to speak to me as a mama might speak reassuringly to her frightened child. I come around and am back in the rhythm of life’s giving and taking, finding and losing.

And Frank is one of those, looking down in his glass bottom boat…

Waiting Game, 1994, Naomi M. Pridjian

2 Responses to “through glass bottom boats”


  1. 1 judy
    February 17, 2010 at 1:38 pm

    Thanks for putting up that painting of Frankie.
    It is sweet to see his cat self on various paintings in the house.
    I wonder if Ordinary Mostly has told the girls about him?


Leave a Reply

Blog posts

February 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 204 other followers

Categories

Archives


