03
Nov
09

3 minutes of fame

I have heard it said that everyone gets 3 minutes of fame in life. I suspect this notion is an extrapolation of  the very famous, American (commercial artist turned art star—Andy Warhol, who predicted 15 minutes of fame for everyone. I have never bothered to consider this “prediction” as worthy of considering at any level, and had not until last summer when a neighbor, who is a videographer of note,  asked to interview me for a PBS program called 30 Good Minutes (formerly, the Chicago Sunday Evening Club).  The topic was to be the sharing of my faith journey. Being in the midst of the debate over our eligibility to become members of the church BD and I were attending at the time…and still being hopeful that the outcome would be positive, I accepted. By interview time, late in the summer, I was no longer hopeful and fully into recovery process, which I now consider an encounter with post traumatic stress. A promise is a promise and I like to keep the ones I make, so I went ahead. (I am thankful that all but one of the tearful episodes were edited out.)

On the appointed day, he arrived with lights, camera, cords, microphone pick-up and all sorts of  equipment. I took a deep breath and the camera rolled. The interview lasted for about an hour and a half, but with his skill, patience and artful editing, the end result was the 3 minute Faith Journey clip slated for the beginning of the show.  So, on Sunday, November 1, 2009 my soul and I were live on TV: I had  3  minutes of fame and then it was over. But if you missed it and would like to see it you can at http://30goodminutes.org/  Click here for a direct link to me.

I am a bird on a wire.

Bird on wire

4 Responses to “3 minutes of fame”


  1. 1 judy
    November 3, 2009 at 7:55 pm

    It was a very good profile, NP.
    I’ve sent the link to several friends and they were touched by it, too.

  2. 2 Anne
    November 4, 2009 at 12:08 pm

    He did a fabulous job of editing – capturing the essence of your journey in 3 minutes…condensing an hour and a half of material into a very full story of you. As a former videographer in a previous version of myself, I can attest that this is no small or easy task. Bravo to you for keeping your promise and going through with the interview. I expect your story has touched lives in ways you’ll never know.

    • November 4, 2009 at 1:31 pm

      Would be fantastic to know if one’s struggling life has touched others in helpful ways. This is a melancholic time for me as it was a year ago that I both touched my dying sister’s life and felt so much love for and from many people from LMC. The irony is overshadowing my ability to see the Godlights.

  3. 4 Linda
    November 4, 2009 at 5:58 pm

    Naomi, we’ve been away and then returned to a house in chaos with two tile projects. (Our poor little Surrey the Cat is as nervous as can be what with the noise of demolition.) I watched your video clip on “30 Good Minutes” and am grateful to see and hear your words again. Meeting you, both in person and through your video art, has been a highlight of this year – a gift. I have forwarded the link to your appearance on “30 Good Minutes” to a friend going through a very difficult time and only wish that she could have the chance to speak with you in person. Remember the advice you gave me this fall? You helped me to understand that my attempt to be of use in a certain situation had mutated, over time, into something debilitating – that I wasn’t helping any longer. You were so right and I thank you.


Leave a Reply

Blog posts

November 2009
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 204 other followers

Categories

Archives


