08
Aug
09

mince meat or death?

There are times in one’s life when deciding what is most important, then triaging or shelving the rest, is important business. In times of crisis this is a relatively simple matter. After all which is most to be savored, life or death? Then there are times when even  eating, sleeping and bathroom business are beyond one’s control. Of course, some would say that we humans don’t really have control over anything at all. As a Christ-centered person, I live in a state of grace 24/7. Many of the things I think I have control over are really things in which I merely have investment and/or influence. Control? No, my house is still unsold; I cannot fix the cracks in the congregation I had to leave; nor can I fix the broken heart my partner has because of this, as well as a few additional afflictions.

We are both maxed out in those areas of life that are beyond control. That is why I chose to take  the anger that under laid my depression and digestive unrest to God, where it exploded like a Roman Candle, and then fizzled out from lack of currency. There was no point. I knew that, so I let go of what I was holding and chose to go forward into the days I am given. Does the anger come back? Yes, it tries to, but I am triaging for life now. See, I spent the summer 3 years ago, dying from advanced, stage 4, non-Hodgkin lymphoma. I also watched my sister die of this disease last year. I am not afraid to die, but I don’t want to do it before I’ve had time to complete the task God and I are collaborating on: Making my life of many errors meaningful for others.

I receive maintenance Rituxan treatments on a 12 week cycle. These prolong the most dangerous part of my remission, but they also lower my immune system and generally leave me in a state of malaise for anywhere from 2 to 6 weeks afterward. Not fun! I complained to my primary care doctor that oncology was making mince meat out of me—a 92 lb,  golden years lady. His response to me was something like this: Yes, the way they look at things…it’s either mince meat or death! Because stress has a deleterious effect on the immune system (mine is not that great) I am using this as a rule of thumb. Is the expensive grill out on the deck that we can’t get the company to take care of worth my life? No is the obvious answer, right? Of course! So it’s mince meat or death. I’m going for mince meat!

Ginko leaves

3 Responses to “mince meat or death?”


  1. 1 Linda
    August 9, 2009 at 3:18 pm

    Your faith and spirit astound me. I don’t really understand what happened with your former congregation and have a feeling that I still wouldn’t understand even if it was explained in every detail. It is difficult for me to put this experience, as I understand it, in the context of Christ’s message and His life as revealed to us in the Gospels. What do we have to cling to but his words and actions? My imperfect understanding is that Christ wants all of us to follow Him. All of us.

    And now our Surrey (female cat of unknown age) has appeared on the scene looking for some attention. This sweet little girl, found very ill on the streets of St. Paul and nursed back to health for over a year, asks for attention and then scurries away. She’s still a very shy little kitty.

  2. 2 Anne
    August 10, 2009 at 2:24 pm

    Just catching up with August and therefore with you. The last time we talked (not the time I called to vent about my gum surgery) you were mad at God. So interesting to witness your process via these installments…much being quite profound. I love you, dearheart. You make a difference in my life.

    • 3 Naomi
      August 10, 2009 at 2:32 pm

      Thanks. Making a difference is a good thing as long as it’s a good difference. I regret to say that new information received last night brings hurt and anger back to the drawing board. I must wrestle with God yet again. Thinking of doing another post on the subject.


Leave a Reply

Blog posts

August 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 204 other followers

Categories

Archives


