23
Jul
09

30 good minutes

Tomorrow I will be interviewed about my faith journey for a PBS series called 30 Good Minutes.  When I was first approached for this, I was at the apex of my intention to devote all of my spiritual gifts  in the area of the visual arts to the church I was attending. Since that time…seems like ages ago…I have lost that church and am somewhat of an itinerant artist type, having already made a clean break with the secular art world. Never burn bridges, right? I didn’t do the burning. My partner and I were the ones calling the fire department. The church was not interested in receiving the fire department because it didn’t think there was any need. Now it’s a different story. Many wandering, homeless church folk looking for resolution. I am not alone, but really, except for my partner and a few supportive and loving friends, I am alone. I stand before God asking directions when I should be quietly, faithfully waiting. Transition time.

I am wandering and wondering what God will do with all of this mess. Tomorrow I will be interviewed and I no longer am clear as to what sort of artist I am or why. What shall I say? Am I still committed to providing visual art as a doorway to worship? I’ve lost the church and the people. I don’t know where, or if, green shoots will sprout. I have a new church community, but I don’t know if I will regain the passion I once had for this work. I think the muse is asleep…sleeping beauty waiting for the prince…of peace…to come…and plant that kiss of passion and delight.

2 Responses to “30 good minutes”


  1. 1 Laurie
    July 24, 2009 at 9:01 am

    I think I’ve heard that pbs show before, and appreciated it. I hope the interview goes well.

    Thank you for sharing the image of the prince kissing the sleeping beauty. It’s an ever present theatrical production around here (I’m usually the prince kissing the 5-year old), but lends fresh meaning to the Prince of Peace pursuing God’s children in love. I’m at a point at the moment when verbal prayers are difficult, but visual prayers abound, so that will be my image for the day. A prayer for you and your family and all of us.

  2. July 24, 2009 at 9:34 am

    Naomi,

    I’m the Producer of “30 Good Minutes.” Thank you for your willingness to share your spiritual journey with our audience, especially now. I’m praying for you today.

    Robert Black


Leave a Reply

Blog posts

July 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 204 other followers

Categories

Archives


