17
Jul
09

word of mouth

Blogs, listserves, email…have taken over the act of speaking—in some cases, even relating. We no longer have to hear the sound of our own voices to be heard in our brave new world. Communication is convenient, but essentially impersonal. No actual mouths needed, just devices. According to Wikipedia  the phrase, word of mouth is/was “…a reference to the passing of information from person to person…originally referring specifically to oral  communication (literally words from the mouth), but now including any type of human communication, such as face to face, telephone, email, and text messaging.” And there you have it!

Much as I enjoy electronic communication, I miss seeing expressions, body language, touch, sound. Sometimes I talk to the computer. It doesn’t answer back. The TV does a better job of talking back to me, but I don’t like what it has to say. So I pick up my favorite word of mouth device, the cell phone, and go from there.

Ready for a haggard, hackneyed remark? Here it is: I remember when there was just the telephone, that lovely little walkie talkie from the phone company. Anyone remember the phone company? It worked and then it got deregulated along with a bunch of other Armerican dream machines and now…we’ve got a world going so fast it meets itself going forward and hollers “Uncle!” Okay, I know I’m making mass generalities and committing major factual errors, but today I don’t care very much. Maybe I need a vacation…or two.

2 Responses to “word of mouth”


  1. 1 ordinary (mostly)
    July 18, 2009 at 11:05 am

    Guilty as charged… for a long time, I just had email. Then I thought I’d try blogging, and the technophile in me thought that was cool. Then along came twitter, and all of a sudden there’s no need for the phone anymore. Not that I have a cell phone, anyway.

    Take all of that together and you might think I just don’t care for personal interaction at all.

  2. 2 judy
    July 22, 2009 at 7:22 am

    Mostly I like to look at people. I don’t often feel the need to have DPC (deep personal conversation). I just like the way they look.


Leave a Reply

Blog posts

July 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 204 other followers

Categories

Archives


