29
Jun
09

inclusive and mennonite

Yesterday I crossed the bridge and rested in the meadow holding flowers in my hand. Today I am tying up loose ends in preparation for my trip tomorrow to the MC USA conference in Columbus, Ohio. I’ve never been to one of these affairs and would not be going at all were it not for the MennoNeighbors—those courageous folk working for membership inclusion for all within the Mennonite Church. Having emerged from a seriously oppressive church situation where we became ‘poster children’ for same-gender-covenanted-couples-seeking-church-membership—one that has left everyone in a serious state of division and pain—I am obliged to go and support those in the front lines who still have enough vitality and fortitude to press on.

I’ll be there with my pink bracelet and my pink menno T-shirt: “one church, one hope, one spirit…Inclusive and Mennonite…Ask me how!!” Not sure what to say if anyone actually asks me that question, since I clearly did not succeed. Maybe I’ll just say, “Grit!”

One day the church will get there, just as they finally did with civil rights, divorce and remarriage and ordination of women. What is troubling for so many of us is that as a peace and social justice church, the welcoming inclusion of  LGBT persons is  just that: social justice. Jesus cast no one out, how can we? This issue will haunt the church repeatedly until it sees the light and opens its arms. In the meantime, I will continue to insist on truth-telling, love and integrity in all of my sojourns. This won’t make me very popular with some folk, but I’m not running for office…just living my life as honorably as I can.

…unless you change and become like children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven

WatchBabyPoppies

2 Responses to “inclusive and mennonite”


  1. 1 Anne
    June 29, 2009 at 5:26 pm

    Living your life as honorably as you can. As long as I’ve known you (and that’s just a feeeewwww years now) you have been a truth seeker. We expect nothing less of you at this point. Also want to say I love the images you’ve included on your blog.

  2. 2 Luke
    June 29, 2009 at 10:41 pm

    This is so great to hear. I vacillate between hope & despair on the church – but I am so looking forward to seeing all the pink this week!
    blessings,
    Luke


Leave a Reply

Blog posts

June 2009
S M T W T F S
    Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 204 other followers

Categories

Archives


